​Below is the roster for the Subcommittee on Design. Use the dropdown menu if you would like to view membership for a specific technical committee or region. These rosters are as up-to-date as AASHTO's official membership database. 
Note: You may click on a column's header to sort by that category. You may copy, cut, and paste the contents of the chart into an Excel worksheet.

More information on Regional Steering Committee Membership

Committee Name:
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Braceras, Carlos cbraceras@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Chair Non-Voting
Taylor, Joyce No joyce.taylor@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Vice Chair Non-Voting
Everett, Thomas D. thomas.everett@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary Non-Voting
Bush, Patricia pbush@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Adams, William F adamswi@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bush, Rex bushr@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kelly, William C kellyc@dot.state.al.us Alabama Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Neidhold, Mark mark.neidhold@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Voting
Morton, Kenneth Mathew ken.morton@alaska.gov Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities Member Non-Voting
Riley, Annette ariley@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Boschen, Steve sboschen@azdot.gov Arizona Department of Transportation Member Voting
Smith, Trinity Trinity.Smith@arkansashighways.com Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Non-Voting
Fugett, Mike D mike.fugett@ahtd.ar.gov Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Member Voting
Craggs, Timothy L. tim.craggs@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Barros, Cathrina cathrina.barros@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lacey, Neil Joseph neil.lacey@state.co.us Colorado Department of Transportation Member Voting
Barakat, Rabih M rabih.barakat@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hill, Scott Alan scott.hill@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Voting
Wilson, Timothy M. Timothy.Wilson@ct.gov Connecticut Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
McIlvaine, Brian Thad thad.mcilvaine@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tudor, Mark C mark.tudor@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
dorriz, zahra zahra.dorriz@dc.gov District of Columbia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hiers, Paul paul.hiers@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Shepard, Michael Allen michael.shepard@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Story, Brent bstory@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Casey, C. Andy acasey@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Fronda, Julius B julius.fronda@hawaii.gov Hawaii Department of Transportation Member Voting
Barrus, Jesse jesse.barrus@itd.idaho.gov Idaho Transportation Department Member Voting
Brand, Michael Michael.Brand@illinois.gov Illinois Department of Transportation Member Voting
Wright, John E jwright@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Clanton, Jeff jclanton@indot.in.gov Indiana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Maifield, Deanna L deanna.maifield@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Kennerly, Michael J. michael.kennerly@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Voting
Poole, Chris chris.poole@dot.iowa.gov Iowa Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
King, Scott W sking@ksdot.org Kansas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Caudill, Robert K Keith.Caudill@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Non-Voting
Eldridge, Bradley S Brad.Eldridge@ky.gov Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Member Voting
Smith, David David.S.Smith@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Ardoin, Simone Simone.Ardoin@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Non-Voting
Winchester, Chad Chad.Winchester@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Foley, Brad P. brad.foley@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bodge, Steve stephen.bodge@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Hebson, Charles S charles.hebson@maine.gov Maine Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Smith, Angela M asmith@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ridgway, Jason A jridgway@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Voting
Marabello, Eric E emarabello@sha.state.md.us Maryland Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Patel, Hasmukh (Hardy) M hasmukh.patel@state.ma.us Massachusetts Department of Transportation Member Voting
Schuster, Kristin schusterk@michigan.gov Michigan Department of Transportation Member Voting
Roy, Chris chris.roy@state.mn.us Minnesota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Seal, David DSeal@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mood, Amy amood@mdot.state.ms.us Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Pittman, James Richard rpittman@mdot.ms.gov Mississippi Department of Transportation Member Voting
Schroeter, Eric Eric.Schroeter@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tribelhorn, Lesly ltribelhorn@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Voting
Combs, James Alan jcombs@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Owen, Michael H. Mike.Owen@nebraska.gov Nebraska Department of Roads Member Voting
Frost, Paul pfrost@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Voting
Shigenaga, Kristena kshigenaga@dot.state.nv.us Nevada Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Marshall, James Andrew jamarshall@dot.state.nh.us New Hampshire Department of Transportation Member Voting
Jaffe, Richard G richard.jaffe@dot.nj.gov New Jersey Department of Transportation Member Voting
Contreras-Apodaca, Gabriela gabriela.contreras-apodaca@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Voting
Pena, Richard Richard.Pena@state.nm.us New Mexico Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Wilder, Richard D. rwilder@dot.state.ny.us New York State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Zargham, Stephen A Steve.Zargham@dot.ny.gov New York State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lee, Richard W rlee@dot.state.ny.us New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Mumford, Glenn Wilson gmumford@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Corley-Lay, Judith B. jlay@ncdot.gov North Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Weigel, Roger rweigel@nd.gov North Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Slatzer, David David.Slatzer@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Tegeler, Tim ttegeler@odot.org Oklahoma Department of Transportation Member Voting
Polly, David Joe david.j.polly@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Batula, Melissa J mbatula@pa.gov Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Member Voting
Santana-Pimentel, José E. jsantana@act.dtop.gov.pr Puerto Rico Department of Transportation and Public Works Member Non-Voting
Santos, Luis lsantos@act.dtop.gov.pr Puerto Rico Department of Transportation and Public Works Member Voting
Palumbo, Vincent vincent.palumbo@dot.ri.gov Rhode Island Department of Transportation Member Voting
Kendall, Jr., James Walter kendalljw@Scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Gibson, Ladd gibsonls@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Voting
Bedenbaugh, Rob bedenbaugr@scdot.org South Carolina Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Leiferman, Mark A. mark.leiferman@state.sd.us South Dakota Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hangul, Ali R ali.hangul@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Jones, Jeff C. Jeff.C.Jones@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Lloyd, Jennifer Jennifer.Lloyd@tn.gov Tennessee Department of Transportation Member Voting
Marek, Mark A. Mark.Marek@txdot.gov Texas Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lukes, George C glukes@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Doehring, Fred fdoehring@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Huot, Ben G bhuot@utah.gov Utah Department of Transportation Member Voting
Devlin, Jesse Alan Jesse.Devlin@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Marshia, Kevin S Kevin.Marshia@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Voting
Robie, Kenneth ken.robie@vermont.gov Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Mirshahi, Mohammad m.mirshahi@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Cary, Robert H rob.cary@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Thrasher, Barton A ba.thrasher@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Boyd, Nancy boydn@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Fleming, Michael fleminm@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Carpenter, Edward Jefferson carpenj@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Scites, RJ raymond.j.scites@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Toney, Chad JonAaron Chad.J.Toney@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Ahmad, Dirar M Dirar.M.Ahmad@wv.gov West Virginia Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Zogg, Jerry H jerry.zogg@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Allen, Andrea Taylor Andrea.Allen@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Pecenka, Sandra A sandra.pecenka@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Non-Voting
Laird, Tony tony.laird@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting
Lali, Moh moh.lali@gov.ab.ca Alberta Transportation Associate Member Non-Voting
REEM, CHANSU rcs1108@ex.co.kr Korea Expressway Corporation Associate Member Non-Voting
Kent, Sukhy sukhy.kent@gov.sk.ca Saskatchewan Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure Associate Member Non-Voting
Mooney, Robert robert.mooney@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Ex Officio Non-Voting
Carlson, Paul J paul-carlson@tamu.edu Texas Transportation Institute Friend Non-Voting
Gibbons, Ronald rgibbons@vtti.vt.edu Virginia Tech Transportation Institute Friend Non-Voting
Vitale, Marty MartyV@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Other None

​​​​Regional Steering Committees

The Subcommittee on Design shall maintain four Regional Steering Committees, one from each of the four AASHTO regions. Each Regional Steering Committee shall be composed of three members from that region. Appointments of members to the regional steering committee shall be made by the Design Subcommittee Chair, but will typically rotate among the states of each region as specified below.

  • Region 1: Connecticut, Maine, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Delaware, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, District of Columbia, Pennsylvania
  • Region 2: Virginia, Arkansas, Tennessee, Mississippi, North Carolina, Georgia, Kentucky, Alabama, Florida, South Carolina, West Virginia, Louisiana, Puerto Rico
  • Region 3: Missouri, Minnesota, Nebraska, Iowa, Ohio, Illinois, Wisconsin, Michigan, Kansas, Indiana,
  • Region 4: California, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, South Dakota, North Dakota, Utah, Idaho, Texas, Oklahoma, Colorado, Washington, Montana, Arizona, Wyoming, Alaska, Hawaii, Nebraska 

Details about Regional Steering Committees can be found on the Design Subcommittee's  Guidelines web page.


Back to Top of Page