Technical Committee on Cost Estimating

 
 
Chair: Lesly Tribelhorn, MT
Vice Chair: Natalie Roark, MO
Secretary: Edwin Okonkwo, FHWA
 
 TCCE1.jpg

Objective and Scope
To create an AASHTO position regarding a recommended policy on best practices for how to develop estimates. The ultimate goal of this Technical Committee is to prepare written policies/guidelines for cost estimating at all stages of project development.

Publication Responsibility
The technical committee is responsible for developing and updating the following documents:  


This publication can be purchased from AASHTO's Bookstore 

Members

Committee Name: SCOD-Technical Committee on Cost Estimating
NameEmail AddressAgency NameDesignationMember Type
Tribelhorn, Lesly ltribelhorn@mt.gov Montana Department of Transportation Chair Voting
Roark, Natalie R natalie.roark@modot.mo.gov Missouri Department of Transportation Vice Chair Voting
Okonkwo, Edwin edwin.okonkwo@dot.gov Federal Highway Administration Secretary Non-Voting
Douglass, Melanie mdouglass@aashto.org American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Liaison Non-Voting
Young, Jack Jack.Young@dot.ca.gov California Department of Transportation Member Voting
Vincent, Matthew J matthew.vincent@state.de.us Delaware Department of Transportation Member Voting
Davis, Philip G greg.davis@dot.state.fl.us Florida Department of Transportation Member Voting
Richardson, Darrell drichardson@dot.ga.gov Georgia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Nickel, Charles F charles.nickel@la.gov Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development Member Voting
Kent, Dave Dave.Kent@dot.ny.gov New York State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Hisem, Jeffrey M. jeff.hisem@dot.state.oh.us Ohio Department of Transportation Member Voting
Riedl, John john.j.riedl@odot.state.or.us Oregon Department of Transportation Member Voting
Ellis, Alan J. Alan.Ellis@state.vt.us Vermont Agency of Transportation Member Voting
Knouse, Theron I theron.knouse@vdot.virginia.gov Virginia Department of Transportation Member Voting
Drye, Jay dryej@wsdot.wa.gov Washington State Department of Transportation Member Voting
Krall, Christine H christine.krall@dot.wi.gov Wisconsin Department of Transportation Member Voting
Spear, Ken R ken.spear@wyo.gov Wyoming Department of Transportation Member Voting

 

Research information dealing with Cost Estimating

NCHRP Report 688 - Determining Highway Maintenance Costs

University of South Carolina - Cost Indexing and Unit Price Adjustments for Construction Materials

NCHRP 20-07(274) - Price Indexing for Transportation Construction Contracts

Olumide - Sliding Scale Contingencies for the Highway Construction Project Development Process


FHWA - Highway Construction Cost Increases and Competition Issues

FHWA - Major Projects, Cost Estimating

NCHRP project 20-7(152) titled "Project Cost Estimating A Synthesis of Highway Practice"

NCHRP Project 8-49 "Guidance for Cost Estimation and Management for Highway Projects during Planning, Programming, and Preconstruction"

NCHRP 08-60 project "Guidebook on Risk Analysis Tools and Management Practices to Control Transportation Project Cost"

NCHRP 8-36 Task 72: “Guidelines for Cost Estimation Improvements at State DOTs”

NCHRP Project 8-36 Task 72: “DOT Approaches to Implementing Cost Estimate Management Process Improvements”

Synthesis on Construction Unit Cost Development: Technical Report

Capacity Building Workshops for Cost Estimation and Cost Management

Transportation Estimators' Association (TEA)

Other Links

Montana Department of Transportation draft Risk Management Plan spreadsheet​​​